feminism on campus

At my college, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, there is a rather big population of individuals that consider themselves feminists. However, I do believe that I only feel this way because I am a Women’s and Gender Minor there. Talking to my friends who are not taking the minor with me, you would think there were no blatantly feminist things going on at our campus. I don’t know if this is an advertising failure, or if it’s just them not noticing because both are very possible.

I know there are a some feminist organizations on campus, like the Women’s Empowerment Series, the Vagina Monologues, Niners for Planned Parenthood, and the Triota Honor Society. These are just a few of the feminist organizations I could think about off the top of my head, and they are also the easiest ones to find advertising on. In our Student Union, I have noticed that they all have hand made signs hanging with all the other clubs and organizations on campus. Out of all of these, however, I would like to highlight the Vagina Monologues.

The Vagina Monologues is a showcase of a series of women’s writings about, well, their vagina’s and things that have happened to them in relation to their owning a vagina. As expected, a sizable amount of the monologues heard are about rape and how the woman felt physically, emotionally, and spiritually when she was being violated and how that effected her life from then on and I believe this is something that more people should hear. Just in the last few weeks, there have been two rapes on our campus and, not only has the news been spinning the “there’s two sides to every story” angle, even our Chancellor sent out a, in my opinion, a very dismissive, bullshit letter to the student populous telling us that the school didn’t tell students these traumatizing events happened because “there was no imminent threat to campus security.” If there’s one thing I hate, it’s people not taking rape cases seriously.

And then, it gets worse because one of the guys that raped a girl on campus is the little brother of some famous football player. When ever you Google searched him or the case, you would always get a picture of his famous brother and they they were related and that, “oh, by the way, did you know the girl he’s accused of raping is his ex girlfriend?” As if that matters! This poor woman was violated and all the news articles wanted to talk about was the guy’s famous brother. Ridiculous.

In that retrospect, I guess feminism on campus isn’t as wide spread as I claimed in my first paragraph. Or maybe it’s just the public spin on things because everyone I’ve talked o about these recent events have been just as outraged as I am. However, the people I talk to think like me so of course they’re going to react similarly. I only associate with Quality Peoplefor the good of my mental health. And, yes, I realize that this post doesn’t directly coincide with African American Feminism, however, I believe with a topic as big and threatening as rape, it becomes an issue for all women. While the women involved in this were white, and even though I am someone who has never been through what they have and are no doubt still dealing with the emotional and physical damage of the events, I would like to stand with them. They deserve justice, they deserve peace.

No one deserves to be raped, no matter how many drinks she’s had or how much money his family has.

Leave a Reply

